Curriculum Vitae


   Ilan Marek is Professor at the Schulich Faculty of Chemistry at the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology. Since 2005, he holds the Sir Michael and Lady Sobell Academic Chair and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC). He was educated in France, received his PhD thesis in 1988 from the University Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, (France) with Prof. Jean F. Normant. After a one year period as postdoctoral fellow in Louvain-la-Neuve (Belgium) with Prof. Leon Ghosez, he obtained a research position at the CNRS (Centre National de la recherche Scientifique) at the University Pierre et Marie Curie in France in 1990. After obtaining his Habilitation in Organic Chemistry, he moved to the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology. He has been visiting Professor at the University de Montreal, Quebec (Canada); University Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg (France); University Paris-Descartes, Paris V (France); California Institute of Technology (CalTech), Pasadena, California (USA) and at the Ecole Nationale Superieure de Chimie de Montpellier (France). In 2015 he was a SFB-guest professor at the Wilhelms-University in Munster (Germany), a Joseph and Patricia Vanderslice Lecturer at the Boston College, MA 02467-3860 (USA) and the 17th International Organic Chemistry Foundation Yoshida Lectureship (Japan).


   Prof. Marek has received several awards and recognitions for his research, including the First French Chemical Society-Acros Price for young Organic Chemist (under 40 years old in 1997); the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Visiting Professor Award (1997); the Lawrence G. Horowitz Career Development Chair (1998); the Yigal Alon Fellowship (1998); Evelyn and Salman Grand Academic Lectureship-USA (1998); the Yosefa and Leonid Allschwang award, administrated by the Israel Science Foundation (2000); the Michael Bruno Memorial Award 2002, administrated by the Rotschild Foundation (2002); the Prize for Excellent Young Chemist, The Israel Chemical Society (2004); the Merck Sharpe and Dohm Lecturer (2005); the Bessel Award of the Humboldt Foundation, Germany (2007), the Taub Award for academic excellence (2009), The German-Technion Award for Academic Excellence and Scientific Collaborations, (2010), the Royal Society Chemistry organometallic Award from the RSC (2011), the Taiwan National Science Council Visiting Scholar (2011), the Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis (2012), the Israel Chemical Society Award for Excellence (2012), the Moore Distinguished Scholar Appointment at the California Institute of Technology (2013), the ERC Advanced Grant (2013), the Eli Lilly lecturer at Urbana Champaign, Il, USA (2014), the SFB-guest professor Wilhelms-University Munster, Germany (2015), the Joseph and Patricia Vanderslice Lecturer, Boston College (2015), the 17th International Organic Chemistry Foundation Yoshida Lectureship, Japan (2015), and the Weizmann Prize for Exact Sciences (2015), the Yannai award for excellence in teaching (2016), the European Journal of chemistry lecture (2016), the Thieme lectureship, the Basel chemical society lecture (2017), the Taiwan National Science Council visiting scholar (2017) and will serve as President of the 53rd Bürgenstock Conference on stereochemistry (2018).


   Besides his recent and past achievements in research, he also had excellent achievements as a lecturer, expressed by the 5 awards he received for excellence in teaching.


   He was a member of the International Scientific Committee of European Symposium on Organic Chemistry (ESOC), including the position of Chairman (2007-2009). He is currently the chairman of the division of organic chemistry, European Association of Chemical and Molecular Sciences (EuCheMS), and he is a member of advisory board of several journals such as Chemical Communications, Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry, European Journal of Organic Chemistry, Angewandte Chemie, International Edition, Chemistry, A European Journal, Advanced Synthesis and Catalysis, Synlett, Synthesis and of The Chemical Records. He is also Associate Editor of the Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry, the Israel Journal of Chemistry and is senior editor of the Patai's series.


Lectures in International Conferences